HomeStart HereTrails, Towns, Writers & HousesTrail EventsTravel InfoOrganizers


Home > Organizers





The Southern Literary Trail is governed and organized by a tri-state board in collaboration with local participants in each partner state of Alabama, Georgia and Mississippi. The Southern Literary Trail Board consists of a Trail director, two co-directors for each state, two academic advisers for each state, a secretary and a treasurer. All serve three year terms and vote on the writers and places honored by the Trail in accordance with requirements stated in the Trail by-laws, available by linking here.

Trail Chairman:

William Gantt
The Southern Literary Trail 

Trail Director:

Sarah McCullough
Mississippi State University Libraries, Starkville 


Stephen Cunetto
Mississippi State University Libraries, Starkville 


Sue Gilman
The Wren’s Nest, Atlanta 

Alabama Trail Co-Directors:

Carol Puckett
The William Bradford Huie Library, Hartselle

Nancy Anlage
Mobile Public Library, Mobile

Alabama Academic Advisers:

Bert Hitchcock
Auburn University, Auburn

Don Noble
The University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa 

Georgia Trail Co-Directors:

Courtney George
The Carson McCullers Center, Columbus

Carol Chancey
The Erskine Caldwell Birthplace, Moreland  

Georgia Academic Advisers:

Bruce Gentry
Georgia College and State University, Milledgeville

Nick Norwood
Columbus State University, Columbus 


Mississippi Trail Co-Directors:

Bridget Pieschel
Mississippi University for Women, Columbus


Mississippi Academic Advisers:

James G. Thomas
The University of Mississippi, Oxford

Lorie Watkins
William Carey University, Hattiesburg 

Ex Officio Board Members:

Ann Abadie
The University of Mississippi, Oxford

Craig Amason
Andalusia Farm, Milledgeville
The Lillian Smith Center, Clayton

Valerie Boyd
The University of Georgia, Athens

Cathy Fussell
The Carson McCullers Center, Columbus

Susan Perry
Southeastern Museum Conference, Atlanta

Steve Pieschel
Mississippi University for Women, Columbus

Charlie Smoke
The Mobile Arts Council, Mobile 
William Starr
The Georgia Center for the Book, Atlanta 

Alabama Grants Treasurer:

Martha H. Turner
The Marengo Co. Historical Society, Demopolis  




Georgia Center for the Book Mississippi Humanities Council Alabama Center for the Book Marengo County Historical Society


Alabama Humanities Foundation

Georgia Tourism Logo

Georgia College



Logo Design:
Kirk Brooker
Website Research and Text:
William Gantt

Mississippi State University - click to visit their website denning e-solutions

Website Design:
Alli Denning
Kate Will
Denning E-Solutions


> back to top